Five directors re-elected to serve

In the fourteenth statewide election since the Texas Corn Producers Board became a statewide entity in 1990, five board members were re-elected in the organization’s biennial elections held in January.

Robert Gordon of Dallam County, Wesley Spurlock of Sherman County, Dee Vaughan of Moore County, and Steven Yoder of Dallam County were re-elected to represent Voting Region One, which covers the Panhandle. Daniel Berglund of Wharton County will continue to serve in Voting Region Four – covering the Coastal Bend.

The Texas Department of Agriculture ratified the results of the elections Thursday, March, 19.

The five board members will be sworn in on April 1, 2020, during TCPB’s next board meeting by Patrick Dudley, Texas Department of Agriculture. Each person elected will serve a 6-year term, or until the year 2026.

The Texas Corn Producers Board is a statewide board dedicated to furthering research, education, promotion and marketing opportunities for the Texas corn industry. A voluntary checkoff program provides our organization with the funds required to enhance and grow the Texas corn industry.

The state is divided into five separate “voting regions” to ensure TCPB board seats best reflect corn production across the state, so corn farmers’ interests are adequately represented. There are 15 board seats on TCPB; the voting regions are designed for each seat to represent 1/15th of the total corn production in Texas, as reported by the Texas Crop Reporting Service. A complete list of board members is available online HERE.

News releases and legal notices on the elections were sent to major newspapers in the regions where elections were held. The voting period was from Jan. 13-27, 2020.

The next election will be in 2022 with five seats up for election.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email