Voting opens January 13

The Texas Corn Producers Board will hold elections in two of its five voting regions to elect five board members where current members’ seats are expiring. The TCPB election is conducted by voting regions and will be held from Jan. 13, 2020, until Jan. 27, 2020.

There are four seats open for election in Voting Region One, which consists of Carson, Dallam, Gray, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Roberts, Sherman and Wheeler counties.

There is one seat open for election in Voting Region Four, which consists of Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton and Wilson counties.

Voters will be voting for qualified candidates who have sought nomination within the respective TCPB voting regions where elections are to occur. In Voting Region One, Robert Gordon of Dallam County, Wesley Spurlock of Sherman County, Dee Vaughan of Moore County, and Steven Yoder of Dallam County have been nominated for one of the four seats. The nominee for the Voting Region Four seat is Daniel Berglund of Wharton County. Voters may also vote for board members by “writing in” the name of any eligible persons.

Corn producers eligible to vote in the elections are persons residing in the counties stated above engaged in the business of producing corn or causing corn to be produced for commercial purposes, including the owner of a farm on which corn is produced and the owner’s tenant or sharecropper.

The elections will be held by mail ballot. Ballots containing the nominations of all persons who have validly filed will be available Jan. 13, 2020, at grain elevators and Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in each of the appropriate voting regions, or by writing TCPB.

For a ballot to be valid, it must be mailed to the TCPB, 4205 N. Interstate 27, Lubbock, Texas 79403, with a postmark date of no later than Jan. 27, 2020.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email