Nominations open September 15

The Texas Corn Producers Board will hold elections in three of its five voting regions to elect five board members where current members’ seats are expiring. The nomination period to be on the ballot starts Sept. 15 and closes Sept. 30. The TCPB election is conducted by voting regions and will be held from Nov. 1 until Nov. 15.

There are two seats open for election in Voting Region One, which consists of Carson, Dallam, Gray, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Roberts, Sherman and Wheeler counties.

There are two seats open for election in Voting Region Three, which consists of Anderson, Angelina, Bandera, Bell, Blanco, Bosque, Bowie, Brewster, Brown, Burnet, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Coke, Coleman, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Concho, Cooke, Coryell, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Ellis, Erath, Falls, Fannin, Franklin, Freestone, Gillespie, Glasscock, Grayson, Gregg, Hamilton, Harrison, Hays, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Houston, Hudspeth, Hunt, Irion, Jeff Davis, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Lamar, Lampasas, Leon, Limestone, Llano, Loving, McCulloch, McLennan, Marion, Mason, Menard, Midland, Milam, Mills, Montague, Morris, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Panola, Parker, Pecos, Presidio, Rains, Reagan, Real, Red River, Reeves, Robertson, Rockwall, Runnels, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Saba, Schleicher, Shelby, Smith, Somervell, Sterling, Sutton, Tarrant, Terrell, Titus, Tom Green, Travis, Trinity, Upshur, Upton, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Ward, Williamson, Winkler, Wise, and Wood counties.

There is one seat open for election in Voting Region Four, which consists of Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton and Wilson counties.

Any person qualified to vote is also qualified to seek nomination for election to the board as a director. Qualified persons must reside within the TCPB voting region wherein they seek nomination. Nomination applications must be submitted to TCPB signed by the applicant and 10 other eligible voters in this election.

Nomination forms are publicly available Sept. 15, 2023, at Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in each of the counties listed above, or can be requested by mail directly from TCPB, 4205 N. Interstate 27, Lubbock, Texas 79403. Requests by mail from TCPB, should include requester’s county of residence. Completed forms must be filed no later than Sept. 30, 2023, to be valid. Nominations can be mailed to TCPB at 4205 N. Interstate 27, Lubbock, Texas 79403.

Corn producers eligible to vote in the elections are persons residing in the counties stated above engaged in the business of producing corn or causing corn to be produced for commercial purposes, including the owner of a farm on which corn is produced and the owner’s tenant or sharecropper.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email