In the 16th statewide election since Texas Corn Producers Board (TCPB) became a statewide entity in 1990, five board members were re-elected in the organization’s biennial elections. Additionally, the referendum to increase the statewide assessment amounts of corn and silage passed by more than the required two-thirds vote.

The five board members re-elected to their positions will be sworn in on January 23, 2024, during TCPB’s next board meeting by the Texas Department of Agriculture. Each person elected will serve a 6-year term, or until the year 2030.

In Voting Region One, Mark Howard of Hartley County and Austin Sage of Dallam County were re-elected to represent this region that covers the Panhandle. Todd Kimbrell of Hill County and Aaron Martinka of Milam County were re-elected to serve in Voting Region Three, which encompasses North and Central Texas. Milton Charles Ring, Jr. of San Patricio County will continue to serve in Voting Region Four – covering the Coastal Bend region.

Corn producers voted in favor of a checkoff assessment of $.148 per ton for corn silage and $.02 per bushel for corn for grain, which is produced in Texas, effective June 1, 2024.

“This is an encouraging step to allow the state’s checkoff board to effectively impact producer profitability,” TCPB Chairman Robert Gordon said. “The assessment is key to driving marketing potential for Texas corn farmers through research, education and promotion.”

The Texas Department of Agriculture ratified the results of the referendum and elections on Tuesday, January 2, 2024.

TCPB is a statewide board dedicated to furthering research, education, promotion and marketing opportunities for the Texas corn industry. A voluntary checkoff program provides our organization with the funds required to enhance and grow the Texas corn industry.

The state is divided into five separate “voting regions” to ensure TCPB board seats best reflect corn production across the state, so corn farmers’ interests are adequately represented. There are 15 board seats on TCPB; the voting regions are designed for each seat to represent 1/15th of the total corn production in Texas, as reported by the Texas Crop Reporting Service. A complete list of board members is available online HERE.

News releases and legal notices on the referendum and elections were sent to major newspapers across the state. The voting period was from Nov. 1 – Nov. 15, 2023.

The next election will be in two years for five seats serving 6-year terms to begin in 2026.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email