Texas Corn Producers Association (TCPA) held its annual meeting the morning of Thursday, Dec. 17. This virtual event allowed farmer members from across the state the opportunity to gain insight on policy activity at the state and federal level, as well as the ongoing advocacy efforts of the association over the past year.

TCPA President Wesley Spurlock, a farmer from Stratford, presided over the meeting.

Texas Representative Four Price was the special guest speaker for the TCPA Annual Meeting

Texas Representative Four Price (R-Amarillo) was the event’s special guest. He gave an overview of Lone Star Politics and discussed how much of the upcoming state legislative session will be focused on COVID-19 implications – particularly to state spending. Representative Price noted there will be little room in the session for much else to be accomplished, as the pandemic had a vast impact on the state as a whole and in many ways. He also noted there will be the added hurdle of navigating procedural needs amidst COVID-19 protocols and procedures to ensure public health and safety.

The association members then gained a federal perspective from Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas) who was re-elected to his position this fall. Senator Cornyn commended agriculturists for their work through the pandemic. He nodded to Congressional measures to offer economic relief to the industry, including the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP).

Congressman Jodey Arrington (R-Lubbock) offered his perspective from the U.S. House of Representatives as well. Arrington discussed the work that was done not only this year, but for the past several years under the Trump administration – highlighting the latest farm bill in particular. Additionally, he offered a glimpse at his future focus on healthcare with his role on the rural healthcare task force.

Spurlock then rounded out the updates with an overview of TCPA’s efforts over the past year. He highlighted the association’s support of COVID-19 relief packages at the federal level, past and ongoing efforts to support ethanol policy and regulations, state water priorities, and preparation for the next farm bill.

At the meeting, members elected five directors for seats that were up for re-election. Elections were held for three At Large seats, as well as a seat in Region 2, which includes the Southern and Rolling Plains, and Region 3, which covers North and Central Texas. The association elected:

  • Region 2: Kyla Hamilton of Lubbock County
  • Region 3: Chad Wetzel of Grayson County
  • At Large:
    • Larry Mason of Dallam County
    • Bart Thoreson of Sherman County
    • Russell Williams of Hartley County

Additionally, elections were held for TCPA officers. The members elected:

  • President: Charles Ring of San Patricio County
  • Vice President: Jim Sugarek of Bee County
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Hagen Hunt of Hale County

Congratulations to the individuals elected to all these leadership roles. TCPA appreciates the efforts of those who previously served in leadership and on the board of the association for their service to the agricultural industry.

Texas Corn Producers Association is the advocacy arm of Texas corn farmer representation on both a state and national level. TCPA’s mission is to build a strong organizational support system for corn that will represent the interests and concerns of farmers from all regions of Texas. It is governed by a 15-member board of directors of corn farmers from across the state of Texas.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email