Every year the Texas Corn Producers Association (TCPA) is proud to award agriculture, food and natural resources (AFNR) education students from participating universities with its AFNR Educator Scholarship. Through this scholarship, TCPA strives to provide financial assistance to those pursuing degrees as agricultural educators by awarding $500 scholarships to those in their student teaching semesters.

This year, TCPA awarded four total scholarships to Texas A&M University and Tarleton State University students.

Emily Gwinn

Gwinn is currently at Texas A&M University and came from the town of Bulverde, Texas. She will spend her semester student teaching at Marion High School in Marion, Texas. Gwinn says she feels as an educator in the agriculture field, it is her responsibility to teach her students agricultural literacy and help them to become advocates for the people who make up the agriculture field.

Erica Pavliska

Pavliska is a student at Texas A&M University graduating in May of 2022. Her student teaching is taking place at Caldwell High School in Caldwell, Texas. Pavliska said as an educator it is her job to inform her students of the facts regarding the agriculture industry so they can decipher what is true and make their own educated decisions.

Kinsey Lane

Lane is student teaching at Grandview High School in Grandview, Texas. She is currently a student at Tarleton State University. Lane feels that teaching students about the political factors affecting the agriculture industry is one of the most important things you can do. She says whether they become involved in agriculture policy or not, this industry affects everyone.

Jenna Lawhorn

Lawhorn is a student at Tarleton State University who is currently student teaching in Alvin, Texas, at Alvin High School. Lawhorn says she hopes her classroom is a steppingstone for her students’ glimpse into the agriculture industry. She wants to continue being an advocate for the industry as she educates her students.

The impact these students make on the agriculture industry does not go unrecognized and TCPA is proud to award these student teachers for it. TCPA wants to congratulate and thank these students for their hard work and dedication to the agriculture industry.

Hannah Turner, the education director at TCP, says it is an honor to award these student teachers who influence the lives of the younger generation.

“Ag science teachers are in a unique position to pour into students at a crucial stage in their life,” Turner said. “Through this scholarship, we get to support them as they support students who are future industry and community leaders.”

To learn more about the AFNR Educator Scholarship, CLICK HERE.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email