Sign-up for E-news

Texas corn farmers take action as national leaders


LUBBOCK, Texas (October 3, 2017) – Six Texas farmers were recently slated to serve in key advising positions for the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA.) These farmers will help mold the future of their industry by guiding programs, and carrying out the policies and priorities that drive the organization.

NCGA relies on a strong group of farmer leaders for the organization to thrive and serve its purpose as a nationwide representation of one of the largest agricultural segments of the United States. The NCGA Corn Board recently determined the farmers who will serve as the core influencers for the association by announcing the members and leaders of its action teams, committees and working groups for the 2017 fiscal year, which begins next month.

The group selected five Texas farmers for various positions within these groups:

  • Lindsey Bowers of Inez, Texas – Consumer Engagement Action Team
  • Aaron Martinka of Buckholts, Texas – Risk Management Action Team
  • Jim Sugarek of Beeville, Texas – Corn Productivity & Quality Action Team
  • Charles Ring of Sinton, Texas – Corn Productivity & Quality Action Team Participant
  • Chad Wetzel of Tom Bean, Texas – Freedom to Operate Action Team

Wesley Spurlock, current NCGA president and Texas Corn Producers (TCP) director from Stratford, Texas, will serve as chairman of the organization, transitioning from his current role as president. In addition to this role, he will be chairman of the NCGA Foundation, serve on the BNSF Railway Ag Business Council, as well as the Monsanto Grower Advisory Committee.

“We can’t wait to see what these eager and enthusiastic Texas farmers do while serving at the national level through these action teams and committees,” Texas Corn Producers Executive Director David Gibson said. “We had other applicants willing to serve, but were not placed this year. We are fortunate to have Texas leaders willing to step up and serve the corn growers on the local, state and national levels.”

Access the complete list of NCGA action team and committee appointments HERE.


Download Press Release
shadow shadow shadow shadow